Section Menu

Foundress Society

Notre Dame Preparatory School’s Foundress Society honors distinguished alumnae and other members of the NDP Community who embody the spirit of Notre Dame Prep and advance the mission of the School Sisters of Notre Dame.

Visitors to campus may view the Foundress Society display in the main foyer. Foundress Society inductions take place every five years, but nominations are accepted on a rolling basis. To nominate an individual, contact the NDP Development Office at 410-583-8797 or use the form at right.

criteria for foundress society nominations...

* If an alumna, a degree-earning graduate 10 years out from time of nomination

* A person of integrity who shows exceptional dedication and service reflective of the SSND mission and who, by her/his actions, works to better our world

* A person who lives out the mission and philosophy of NDP

* She/He may be living or deceased

* Ideally, she/he has had a direct impact on the NDP community

2015 inductees
  • Jacqueline Buedel ’73: Formerly president of Steel and Wire Products, one of NDP's first trustees, current Board member, first recipient of the Mother Caroline Friess, SSND, Distinguished Alumna Service Medal, and long-time volunteer
  • Sister Kathleen Feeley, SSND, Ph.D.: ’46: Former long-time president of Notre Dame University of Maryland (formerly College of Notre Dame of Maryland); served in Africa and Southern Sudan
  • Christine Murry Kaiser ’68: celebrating her 35th year as an NDP educator and Dean of Students
  • Bette Ellis O’Conor ’46*: (posthumously) driving force behind the establishment of the Better Ellis O'Conor Humanities Program
  • Sister Delores Marie Todd, SSND ’48: NDP volunteer and faithful alumna
2012 inductee
  • Sister Marian Sullivan, SSND: long-time NDP math teacher and Dean of Students, on the occasion of her 60th Jubilee as a School Sister of Notre Dame
2010 inductees
  • Catherine Byrne Doehler ’36: The first female member of the Federal Reserve Board
  • Sister Patricia McCarron, SSND, Ph.D.: Headmistress of Notre Dame Preparatory School from 2005-present
  • Sister Patricia McLaughlin ’61, SSND: Executive Director of the Caroline Center, a job training center program for women
  • Susanne Albert Nichols ’51: Art teacher; NDP’s longest tenured faculty member having come to t he school
  • Jeanette Glose Partlow ’75: President of Maryland Chemical Company
  • Wendy Ann Strassner ’82: former Chairperson of the Sacred Heart Haiti Ministry and former President of ServeHAITI
2005 inductees
  • Sister Doris Ann Gentry, SSND: S. Doris Ann was NDP headmistress from 1965-1968 before moving to Florida to head another school.
  • Sister Mary Ellis Denny, SSND: NDP headmistress from 1968-1979, S. Ellis instituted significant curricular changes at the school and established NDP’s sister-school relationship with Ignacio Ellacuria in El Salvador.
  • Sister Helen Marie Duffy, SSND: S. Helen Marie enjoyed a 60-year tenure here, the last 18 years as headmistress (1979-1997). Her legacy includes instituting a Board of Trustees and proactive fundraising.
  • Sister Christine Mulcahy, SSND: During her tenure as headmistress, Sister Christine is credited with significant campus improvements, heightened fundraising, and instituting laptops into the curriculum.
  • Dorothy M. Brown, Ph.D., ’50: Dr. Brown is a long-time educator and former provost at Georgetown University.
  • Margaret Bagli Otenasek ’51: Otenasek’s outstanding philanthropy has afforded countless deserving students the chance to attend Notre Dame; her three daughters attended NDP.
  • Claire T. Hartman ’71: A nationally recognized film producer and director who currently produces a local, social justice-oriented radio show, Hartman volunteers doing social justice work and philanthropy with organizations such as St. Ignatius Academy, Sisters Academy, and St. Elizabeth’s.
  • Mia Sutphin ’92: A young woman whose life was cut short by malaria while she was caring for AIDS babies as a nurse in Africa in 2002.

Foundress Society and Athletic Hall of Fame Nomination

Do you know someone who truly lives the NDP mission and the SSND philosophy? An athlete who embodies the ideals of good sportsmanship? Then nominate her or him for the Notre Dame Preparatory School Foundress Society, which honors former NDP headmistress Sister Mary Virginia Connelly, or the Athletic Hall of Fame.

  • -